Job Market Workshops

November 4th, 2022

Session 1

Preparing and Delivering an Effective Presentation

  When:

  • 10am-11:45am EDT / 3pm-4:45pm CET

 

Topics Covered:

  • Best practices for effective slides
  • Best practices for effective presentations
  • Handling audience questions

 

Guest Speakers:

  • Paul Goldsmith-Pinkham, Assistant Professor, Yale University
  • Arik Levinson, Professor, Georgetown University 

Session 2

Interview Preparation #1

  When:

  • 12:15-2pm EDT / 5:15-7pm CET

 

Topics Covered:

  • Interviewing with research-oriented academic institutions 
  • Interviewing with teaching-oriented institutions 
  • Practicing for interviews

 

Guest Speakers:

  • Alex Hollingsworth, Associate Professor, Indiana University 
  • Anastassia Fedyk, Assistant Professor, UC Berkeley
  • Lucie Schmidt, Professor, Smith College 

Session 3

Interview Preparation #2

When:

  • 2:15-4pm EDT / 7:15-9pm CET

  

Topics Covered:

Consulting positions

  • Data scientist positions
  • Independent policy research/evaluation organizations
  • Governmental and Intergovernmental organizations

 

Guest Speakers:

  • Dani Sandler, Principal Economist, US Census Bureau
  • Luca Mazzone, Economist, IMF
  • Esteban Quiñones, Researcher, Mathematica
  • Andrew Elzinga, Senior Manager, Cornerstone Research
  • Alex Naumenko, Data Scientist, Visa

We are utilizing these workshops to raise funds for Ukraine! We recommend donating to one of the causes we support (suggested amount: $100). Register here for further instructions and the zoom link. 

Each session consist of 2-5 speakers and will include a Q&A! The workshop will be recorded, so feel free to register even if you cannot attend live.