Job Market Workshops

August 19th, 2022

Session 1

General Preparation for the Market 

  When:

  • 10am-11:45am EDT / 4pm-5:45pm CEST

  Topics Covered:

  • How to prepare your application packet
  • How to choose which positions to apply to
  • How many jobs to apply to
  • How to not burn out

Guest Speakers:

  • Amanda Agan, Assistant Professor, Rutgers University
  • Akshaya Jha, Assistant Professor, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Mallesh Pai, Associate Professor, Rice University

Session 2

Understanding Different Job Markets

  When:

  • 12:15-2pm EDT / 6:15-8pm CEST

  Topics Covered:

  • The North American Market
  • The European Market
  • Liberal Arts Positions
  • Industry Positions

Guest Speakers:

  • Jeffrey Groen, Research Economist, Bureau of Labor Statistics
  • Sarah Jacobson, Professor, Williams College
  • Sergey Popov, Senior Lecturer, Cardiff University
  • Mathias Reynaert, Assistant Professor, Toulouse School of Economics
  • Marciano Siniscalchi, Professor, Northwestern University

We are utilizing these workshops to raise funds for Ukraine! We recommend donating to one of the causes we support (suggested amount: $100). Register here for further instructions and the zoom link. 

Each session will include a Q&A! The workshop will be recorded, so feel free to register even if you cannot attend live.